There are two choices for setting up Facebook for your Business or Community Group. It really depends on if you want it more like a forum (group) or an Administrator content driven page (Business page). Once you choose one style of page, you cannot change to the other so it is important to consider the pros and cons of each option -
- Groups provide a closed space for small groups of people to communicate about shared interests.
- You can turn on post approval so the Administrator can review posts before they appear.
- If you are a Group admin, you can remove most posts in your Group easily. You can also 'mark as spam' or 'report as abuse' to report abusive posts to Facebook.
- Administrators can remove or ban a member from a Group. Removed members will have to request to join the Group again if they wish to rejoin. Banned members won't be able to find the Group in search or see any of its content. They can't be added to the Group again by members.
- When a Group reaches 250 people, some features are limited like how many people have seen a particular post. There is no limit as to how large your group is though.
- Members of your Group will receive notifications by default when any member posts a message in the Group. Group members can participate in chats, upload photos to shared albums, collaborate on Group documents and invite members who are friends to Group events.
- Group members can share their thoughts, post an update, add a photo or video, ask a question, upload a file and comment on other group posts.
- You can follow a post in a Group to stay up-to-date on what is said about that post. You are then sent notifications when anyone in the Group comments on it.
- Open Group - Anyone can join, or be added by a member. Anyone can see the Group name and who's in it including the posts in the Group. Anyone can find the Group in a search and can see stories about the Group on Facebook.
- Closed Group - Anyone can ask to join or be added. Anyone can see the Group name and who's in it, can find the Group in a search and can see stories about the Group on Facebook BUT only members can see posts in the Group. Group members must be approved or added by other members (when closed).
- Secret Group - Anyone can ask to join the Group but they have to be added by an Administrator. Only members can see who is in the Group, see posts, find the Group in a search or see stories about the Group on Facebook.
Business Page -
- Pages allow Businesses to communicate broadly with people who like them. Pages may only be created and managed by official Administrators (can be multiple Administrators).
- Page information and posts are public and generally available to everyone on Facebook.
- Anyone can 'Like a Page' to become more connected with it and get News Feed updates into their personal Facebook streams.
- Page Administrators can share posts under the Page's name (not their name). Page posts appear in the feeds of people who like the page and their friends.
- Facebook Pages are public spaces. Anyone who can see the public Page can see your post or comment. When you post or comment to a public Page, a story is published on your timeline that can also be published in the News Feed.
- You can choose to not show posts by others on your Page's timeline until you review them or to not allow others to post on your Page at all.
- You can proactively moderate content posted on your page by adding keywords to a blocklist in order to prevent any particular words appearing on your Page so the comment is automatically marked as spam. You can also switch on the profanity filter.
- You can permanently ban a person that is connected to your Page.